smallpana.blogg.se

Please can you tell me why
Please can you tell me why








please can you tell me why

replacing an imperative with a conditional statement about yourself: "I would like to know" rather than "tell me," "I would like to have" rather than "give me."Īnother reason, completely separate, why people might object is because, as MorganFR mentions, this isn't useful information at all (especially if you add it at the end of all of your questions).

please can you tell me why

using the word "could" or "can": "could you do this" rather than "do this".The following strategies for avoiding the imperative mood are often used by native speakers, although not in all circumstances: (There's a similar effect with "give me": "give me the answer" sounds rude, even if accompanied by "please," while "could you give me the answer" is not quite as bad). As mentioned by the commenter, asking "Can you tell me" is less direct and therefore generally perceived as more polite. "Tell me" is a relatively direct way of asking a question, and adding "please" doesn't really soften this. It can make your question feel more like a demand than a request. I think in some circumstances, the imperative mood can come across as rude, because it's a very direct way of asking someone to do something. We do not have advertisements on our pages but we do try to make money through paid-memberships.People will have different opinions about rudeness. We hire professional interviewers (people with multiple years of experience interviewing candidates) to help us create our interview questions and write answer examples. We do this by creating interview questions that we think you might be asked. The purpose of this page is to help you prepare for your job interview.










Please can you tell me why